State Rep. Quirk-Silva Honors Women of Distinction

2017 Women of Distinction Winners from Sharon Quirk-Silva

Assemblywoman Sharon Quirk-Silva, (D – Orange County) honored 59 women on Saturday at the 65th Assembly District’s annual Women of Distinction event. The event took place on Saturday, March 25th, at the Fullerton Public Library.

Honorees were nominated by their peers in one of three categories — exemplary service, outstanding achievements and ability to inspire positive change — and selected by Quirk-Silva, who represents the communities of Anaheim, Buena Park, Cypress, Fullerton, Garden Grove, La Palma, and Stanton.

“This event is held annually to thank women for all the great contributions they make in our community. They are all to be commended for our service, not just to their families, but also for the service to our community.”

“Women are professionals that contribute greatly to the economy. So, securing economic opportunity for all women—through equal pay, access to childcare, family friendly workplaces, and protecting vulnerable communities — makes a stronger California and a stronger nation.”

The 2017 Women of Distinction honorees are:

Education Community Service Arts
Jennifer Berens Eva Arevalo Aimee Aul
Joyce Bleker Shirley Bloom Leanne Emas
Kenni Blossom Jeanette Burns Danielle Mauk
Sara Cooper Alicia Castillo De La Luz  
Laurel Estrada Alma Chavez Business
Joanne Fawley Kathy Dasney Dena Bravo David
Emy Flores Laura Dean Richarson Florice Hoffman
Ruth Gaer Cathy Eldredge Beatriz Porto
Estella Grimm Minerva Gomez  
Mary Kay Orr Rosamaria Gomez Amaro Health Education
Mary Mazza Laura Gonzalez Lynne Orr
Janny Meyer Rida Hamida  
Teresa Moran Shimogawa Mirvette Judeh Sports
Lorena Moreno Ana Lety Hernández Michelle Jackson
Tonantzin Oseguera Jo-Anne Matsuba Adriana Valdez
Jackie Rodarte Marlene McGlensey  
Jill Rosenbaum Veronica Moran  
Jan Sapien Vivien Moreno  
Karen Skoug Claudia Perez Figueroa  
Patty Slope Leslie Reynoso  
Susan Smith Yvonne Roble De Caprio  
Hilda Sugarman Susan Sonne  
Eden Turner Pat Trotter  
Jeanette Vazquez    
Su Wells    
Stephanie Wilmoth    
Susan Wong-Weisel