LATE BREAKING: Over 40 Legislators Urge Repeal of Prop 8

“The citizens of California rely on the Legislature and the courts to safeguard against unlawful discrimination by temporary, and often short-lived, majorities,” said the legislators. “Our states few deviations from this duty have proven, with the perspective of historical distance, to be the most abhorrent chapters in our State’s history… The Legislative Amici urge this Court to prevent the momentary passions of a bare majority from compromising the enduring constitutional promise of equal protection under the law. Proposition 8’s radical change to our constitutional protections cannot be considered a mere ‘amendment.’ The California Constitution — ‘the ultimate expression of the People’s will’ — requires the involvement of the Legislature in a constitutional revision of this magnitude.”

“I am joining more than 29 members of the Assembly Democratic Caucus in supporting this brief,” said [Assembly] Speaker [Karen] Bass. “The inalienable right to equal treatment under the law must be protected and upheld.”

This was from today’s statement by the 40+ state legislators that filed a “friend of the court” brief siding with the plaintiffs in the lawsuit to overturn Prop 8 and permanently banish discrimination from the state constitution. Hopefully, this is only the beginning of good news to come in this important case to right what went wrong last week.

Most importantly, the legislators make a good case that a judicial rebuke of Prop 8 is NOT “undoing the will of the people”. Rather, the state constitution, the preeminent will of the people, stipulates that the “tyranny of the simple 50%+1 majority” must not be used to strip minority groups of fundamental rights.

I only hope the judges read this statement with open minds and open hearts.

  5 comments for “LATE BREAKING: Over 40 Legislators Urge Repeal of Prop 8

  1. Paul
    November 10, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    i wonder where the 40 legislators were before tuesday?

  2. November 10, 2008 at 7:28 pm


    Here is the list of the State Legislators who opposed Proposition 8. My guess is that all of the people alligned with the statement urging repeal are on the list. They were on the list before Election day.

    Elected Officials
    United States Senator Barbara Boxer
    United States Senator Dianne Feinstein
    United States Representative Howard Berman
    United States Representative Lois Capps
    United States Representative Susan Davis
    United States Representative Mike Honda
    United States Representative Barbara Lee
    United States Representative Lucille Roybal-Allard
    United States Representative Linda Sanchez
    United States Representative Adam B. Schiff
    United States Representative Brad Sherman
    United States Representative Hilda L. Solis
    United States Representative Jackie Speier
    United States Representative Pete Stark
    United States Representative Ellen Tauscher
    United States Representative Mike Thompson
    United States Representative Henry Waxman
    United States Representative Lynn Woolsey
    California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger
    California Lt. Governor John Garamendi
    California State Controller John Chiang
    California State Board of Equalization Chair Judy Chu
    California State Board of Equalization Vice Chair Betty T. Yee
    California State Senate President pro Tempore Don Perata
    California State Senate Majority Leader Gloria Romero
    California State Senator Ron Calderon
    California State Senator Gilbert Cedillo
    California State Senator Ellen Corbett
    California State Senator Lou Correa
    California State Senator Denis Moreno Ducheny
    California State Senator Sheila Kuehl
    California State Senator Carole Migden
    California State Senator Jenny Oropeza
    California State Senator Alex Padilla
    California State Senator Mark Ridley-Thomas
    California State Senator Jack Scott
    California State Senator Patricia Wiggins
    California Sate Senator Leland Yee
    California State Senator Elaine Alquist
    California State Senator Christine Kehoe
    California State Senator Alan Lowenthal
    California State Senator Darrell Steinberg
    California State Senator Tom Torlakson

    California Assembly Speaker Karen Bass
    California Speaker Emeritus Fabian Nuñez
    California Assembly Majority Leader Alberto Torrico
    California Assembly Assistant Majority Leader Kevin de Leon
    California Assembly Majority Whip Fiona Ma
    California Assembly Speaker pro Tempore Sally Lieber
    California Assemblymember Jim Beall
    California Assemblymember Patty Berg
    California Assemblymember Julia Brownley
    California Assemblymember Anna Caballero
    California Assemblymember Charles Calderon
    California Assemblymember Joe Coto
    California Assemblymember Mike Davis
    California Assemblymember Mark DeSaulnier
    California Assemblymember Mervyn Dymally
    California Assemblymember Mike Eng
    California Assemblymember Noreen Evans
    California Assemblymember Mike Feuer
    California Assemblymember Felipe Fuentes
    California Assemblymember Warren Furutani
    California Assemblymember Loni Hancock
    California Assemblymember Mary Hayashi
    California Assemblymember Ed Hernandez
    California Assemblymember Jared Huffman
    California Assemblymember Dave Jones
    California Assemblymember Betty Karnette
    California Assemblymember Paul Krekorian
    California Assemblymember John Laird
    California Assemblymember Mark Leno
    California Assemblymember Lloyd Levine
    California Assemblymember Ted Liu
    California Assemblymember Tony Mendoza
    California Assemblymember Gene Mullin
    California Assemblymember Pedro Nava
    California Assemblymember Fabian Nunez
    California Assemblymember Anthony Portantino
    California Assemblymember Curren Price, Jr.
    California Assemblymember Ira Ruskin
    California Assemblymember Mary Salas
    California Assemblymember Lori Saldana
    California Assemblymember Sandre Swanson
    California Assemblymember Lois Wolk

  3. Paul
    November 10, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    Im a high propensity democrat. I never got a single call, or piece of mail for no on 8. Im just saying that these legislators might have done more than lend there name to a list since it was common thoght that Obama would take california. These legislators could have lend time, energy, and money to the no on 8 campaign or even coordinated campaigns for local races as well as no on 8. Just saying.
    I also see Lou Correas name on the list but do not see two of the most prominent elected dems in oc on the list.

  4. Will Byrd
    November 11, 2008 at 8:01 am

    What happened prior to the election happened then. This is now, and we can only be so very grateful for the great support we are recieving now from leading politicians and religious leaders here in CA (including most within my own Episcopal Church) at this time.

  5. duplojohn
    November 11, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    These are band wagon politicians.

    With the exception of a select few, NOBODY on your list did shit to further the cause.

    It’s foolish, albeit needed to have them now stand up.

    What’s next Tenesee Tiatns shirts.

    MY Catholic parish did more to oppose 8 than many of these folks.

Comments are closed.